Navigation
Einsteinturm (Einstein Tower)
Einsteinturm

Built between 1919 and 1922, the Einstein Tower is a solar observatory located on Telegraph Hill within the Albert Einstein Science Park in Potsdam. It was built as part of a collaboration between the architect Erich Mendelsohn and astrophysicist Erwin Finlay Freundlich and the Nobel Prize winner Albert Einstein, which the building is named after and whose bust by Kurt Harald Isenstein (1928) stands at the entrance.

Freundlich, who worked at the Babelsberg Observatory near Potsdam, and Einstein pursued work on the general theory of relativity. To support the work and help with proving and testing the theory, Feundlich urged his friend Mendelsohn to design a suitable observatory in Potsdam. Seeing the project as a new challenge that would help him gain international recognition, Mendelsohn agreed to design the observatory. Einstein's position as a respected scientist provided a way to attract financiers for the project.

Scientific instruments were installed two years after the construction of the building was completed. The observatory became operational in December 1924, although the initial objective to find evidence of displacement of spectral lines in the gravitational field of the sun failed. Nevertheless, work at the observatory provided important contributions to research in the field.

The bright Einstein Tower is a fine example of expressionist architecture with Art Nouveau features. Mendelsohn was largely left to create his own design for the observatory. Focusing less on the building’s function, Mendelsohn wanted the observatory to reflect an organic architectural style where the building stood in harmony with the surrounding landscape. The scientific requirements of the observatory made it necessary to build the telescope on its own foundation, while the building was designed to be more as a protective cover.

Originally, the Einstein Tower was to be made of reinforced concrete. Ultimately this could not be possible due to construction difficulties, the complex design and lack of supplies. As a result, parts of the observatory were built using bricks and covered with stucco. During the construction phase and after its completion, the building suffered repeated damage that required extensive repairs. From 1997 to 1999, the Einstein Tower was fully renovated. Today, the building is home to the Leibniz Institute for Astrophysics and it remains in use as an observatory. The Einstein Tower also houses a leading solar research facility.

The Einstein Tower is well worth a visit, even from the outside. Due to ongoing research work, access to the observatory is limited. Visitors wishing to explore the interior can book tours between March and October.

Einstein Tower map

Events in Potsdam

ticket sales

Music Festival in Potsdam

The Music Festival in Potsdam will be held again in June. This year's theme "Music and gardens" ubiquitous. So even on the opening day in June. Interesting and unique you can take guided tours and visits to many different places. For those interested there is an Opera Workshop.

TICKETS

Details about the Music Festival in Potsdam can be found here.

The concert on the eve and Night of the Palaces in Potsdam

The Park of Sanssouci and Sanssouci Palace with its terraced vineyards and the New Palace are undisputedly the most important monuments in Potsdam, therefore provides the Night of the Palaces as an excellent temporal orientation, to learn more about the state capital of Brandenburg.

TICKETS

Details about the Night of the Palaces can be found here.

Miscellaneous

Impressum

Forum

Sitemap

Official Contact

Official Park Sanssouci Contact

The Foundation for Prussian Palaces and Gardens.

Phone : +49 (0)331/9694-0

Fax : +49 (0)331/9694-107

Einsteinturm
Einsteinturm

Der Einsteinturm, ein in den Jahren 1919 bis 1922 erbautes Sonnenobservatorium, befindet sich auf dem Telegrafenberg in Potsdam im "Wissenschaftspark Albert Einstein". Erbaut wurde er im Rahmen einer Zusammenarbeit des Architekten Erich Mendelsohn mit dem Astrophysiker Erwin Finlay Freundlich und dem Nobelpreisträger Albert Einstein, dem das Gebäude auch seinen Namen verdankt und dessen von Kurt Harald Isenstein 1928 geschaffene Büste noch heute im Eingangsbereich steht.

Freundlich, der an der Sternwarte Babelsberg nahe Potsdam beschäftigt war, verfolgte Einsteins Arbeit an der Allgemeinen Relativitätstheorie und interessierte sich dafür, dessen Überlegungen praktisch zu überprüfen und nachzuweisen. Aus diesem Grund drängte er seinen Freund Mendelsohn dazu, in Potsdam ein geeignetes Observatorium zu entwerfen. Mendelsohn willigte schließlich ein, für ihn sollte dieses Projekt den beruflichen Durchbruch darstellen, mit dem er internationale Bekanntheit erlangte. Auf Grund von Einsteins weltweiter Bedeutung konnten für das Vorhaben in Potsdam sowohl der preußische Staat als auch die deutsche Industrie als Financiers gewonnen werden.

Zwei Jahre nach der Beendigung der Arbeiten an dem Gebäude waren schließlich auch die wissenschaftlichen Geräte installiert, so dass das Observatorium im Dezember 1924 in Betrieb genommen werden konnte. Allerdings gelang der ursprünglich angestrebte Nachweis der Verschiebung von Spektrallinien im Schwerefeld der Sonne nicht. Trotzdem konnten im Bereich der sonnenphysikalischen Grundlagenforschung zahlreiche Ergebnisse erzielt werden.

Der hell ockerfarbene Einsteinturm beeindruckt vor allem durch seine außergewöhnliche expressionistische Architektur, die aber auch bereits Jugendstilmerkmale aufweist. Mendelsohn selbst ordnete sein Werk der Organischen Architektur zu, bei der neben einer Harmonie von Gebäude und Landschaft vor allem eine Unterordnung der Form gegenüber der Funktion im Fokus steht. Die wissenschaftlichen Anforderungen des Observatoriums machten es notwendig, das Teleskop auf einem eigenen Fundament zu errichten, während das Gebäude an sich eher als Schutzhülle konzipiert war. Gestalterisch war dem Architekten ansonsten freie Hand gelassen worden.

Eigentlich sollte der Einsteinturm ein reines Stahlbetonkonstrukt werden, letztendlich ließ sich dies jedoch aufgrund der noch unausgereiften Technik und der schlechten Materialien nicht realisieren, so dass Teile aus Ziegelsteinen aufgemauert wurden. Schon während der Bauphase, aber auch nach ihrer Beendigung, kam es immer wieder zu Schäden an dem Gebäude, die umfangreiche Reparaturen notwendig machten. In den Jahren 1997 - 99 wurde der Einsteinturm zuletzt aufwendig renoviert. Heute ist das Leibniz-Institut für Astrophysik in Potsdam Eigentümer und Nutzer des Gebäudes, das immer noch als Observatorium Verwendung findet. Der Einsteinturm beherbergt derzeit eine leistungsfähige Sonnenforschungsanlage.

Das sehr sehenswerte Bauwerk ist jederzeit von außen zu besichtigen, auf Grund der Forschungsarbeiten ist ein Besuch der Innenräume allerdings nur in den Monaten Oktober bis März im Rahmen einer Führung nach Anmeldung möglich.

Einsteinturm Karte

Veranstaltungen in Potsdam

Ticketverkauf

Musikfestspiele in Potsdam

Im Juni finden erneut die Musikfestspiele in Potsdam statt. In diesem Jahr ist das Thema „Musik und Gärten“ allgegenwärtig. So auch am Eröffnungstag dem 12. Juni. Interessant und einmalig können Sie auch am Fahrradkonzert, 22 Konzerte, Führungen und Besichtigungen an 16 verschiedenen Orten teilnehmen. Für interessierte gibt es eine Opernwerkstatt.

TICKETS

Details zu den Musikfestspielen in Potsdam finden Sie hier.

Offizieller Ansprechpartner

Offizieller Park Sanssouci Ansprechpartner

ist die Stiftung Preußische Schlösser & Gärten

Telefon : +49 (0)331/9694-0

Fax : +49 (0)331/9694-107